Ukraine War Day #412: Vladlen Assassination Eye-Witness Speaks Out

Dear Readers:

Today I have for a you a rather amazing story, the reporter is Nikolai Varsegov. The hero of this story is a woman named Elena Tel’nykh. Elena was there and witnessed the terrorist act that killed Russian blogger Vladlen Tatarsky. Elena was injured in the bomb blast. But her story does not start there, the reporter details a rather interesting pre-history involving this same woman.

An image of the beautiful Siberian coniferous taiga.

Back in 2010 the reporters and editorial staff of the KP newspaper first became acquainted with Elena when she contacted them to help in a rescue mission. The setting: Way out there, in the Russian Far-East that borders Mongolia, there are the Sayan Mountains, and a vast taiga, teeming with wildlife. Into that very tough environment a mad ex-priest had led his deluded followers, purportedly to “save” them, but in reality they were all dying a slow death from hunger and cold. Somehow (the reporter doesn’t explain how), Elena Tel’nykh learned about this situation and decided to save the pilgrims. She and reporter Varsegov travelled together to Siberia on a rescue mission. For a month they lived together in a Mongolian yurt, blasted by the cold wind seeping through every crevice. Happily, they found the religious community eventually, and everybody was evacuated back to civilization. Thanks to Lena: She saved their lives and helped to rescue these people.

Hero Lena surviving in a Mongolian yurt

The story was big news in Russia at the time, and shook up a lot of people. It was like Russia’s Jim Jones story, but with a happy ending. The original report can be found at this link.

Fast forward 13 years. Lena and Varsegov meet up again, this time in an equally shocking encounter. By some random blow of fate, Lena happened to be in the very cafe when the bomb went off that killed Vladlen Tatarsky. Varsegov interviews her at her hospital bed.

Varsegov: Lena, how did you come to be there?

Lena: I wanted to meet Vladlen Tatarsky. I work for an organization that helps our soldiers. I am also a photographer now. I arrived at the event early in order to get a seat as close as possible to Vladlen.

Varsegov: Did you know the terrorist, Darya Trepova?

Lena: Of course not. She suddenly appeared directly behind me. At one point she blurted out some question, but I paid no attention. And then she asks again, and announces herself: “I am that very Nastya [Anastasia], don’t you remember my postcards?”

When he heard those words, Vladlen got all excited. He walked right up to me and, speaking over my head, responds to her: “Nastya! Nastenka! Of course I remember you! Your postcards, they were remarkable!”

Later this so-called Nastya-Darya person says that she is a representative of the patriotic student movement, and that her postcards are going to be published. And she says she is also studying to be a sculptor. And look here, she and some friends of hers decided to make sculptures of the SMO heroes, including the war-bloggers. She says, we made a bust of you and decided to bring it to you. But I wasn’t allowed to bring it through the door, they were worried it might contain a bomb. But if you like, I can bring it to you.

The terrorists were counting on the fact that Vladlen was always very attentive to his fans. Especially the young ones. And so Tatarsky accepted the gift. I started taking photos, and I was amazed at the low quality of the artwork. I had the sensation that a very untalented schoolchild had crafted this piece of garbage. I also noticed that Nastya seemed anxious to distance herself from Vladlen as soon as possible. I grab her by the jacket, I ask both her and Tatarsky to pose together for a photo, along with the sculpture. And she begs me: “Oh no, I am too modest! I am too shy!” I tell her that there is nothing to be modest about. And I literally shove her and force her towards Tatarsky and the statuette. But she manages to elude me and slip to the side. So I take one photograph of her sitting in her chair. All this time Vladlen is holding the statuette, twirling it around his head, it’s like he is faking some kind of ecstasy, in order to encourage the girl. While the latter is covering her face in her hands, acting like she is too shy. She was sitting something like 4 meters away from the bomb. And he spent a long time holding and twirling the statuette. And I took photos the whole time.

Lena in her hospital room, gets ready for her operation.

Varsegov: Do you believe that this shy terrorist was trying to shield her face from the bomb?

Lena: I think so. But I believe that the bomb was set off at a distance, by someone other than her. By her co-conspirator.

Varsegov: How did she escape injuries?

Lena: She was sitting in a straight line going from: Bomb-Tatarsky-Trepova. It’s possible her collaborator picked the right moment when Tatarsky’s body was shielding Trepova from the fragments. That must have been the moment when the evil-doer pressed the button.

Varsegov: What happened after that?

Lena: It was just like in a movie, when everything is suddenly slomo. Just a second before the explosion I had stood up and taken a step to the left, I was picking a better angle for my next shot. My camera was in front of my face, my eyes; this is what saved my vision. Suddenly I see a puff of white smoke. Then, through my concussion I hear somebody’s voice: “So, it was a bomb after all!” Instantaneously I am thinking: Do I die, or I don’t die? Just in case, I start reciting the prayer for the dead. And in that very moment I understand perfectly that our shy little Nastya is the terrorist. After that, the shock wave tears my camera out of my hands, and I cover my face with my left hand. All of this happens in a single moment, but due to the concussion, my consciousness perceives everything in slow motion. That same shock wave pins me to the wall, and I lose consciousness. But only for a moment. I check that my hands and feet are still there. Everything is still there, but my arms don’t work any more, due to the bomb fragments embedded in my hands. I try to make my way towards the exit.

Varsegov: Your camera, with those final pictures, it was damaged, no doubt?

Lena: I think so. It was taken as evidence by the investigators.

Varsegov concludes his story with a medical update: “Lena wrote to me this morning from the hospital. She says one of her fingers is working again, so she can email me. Or phone me. Investigators say that she was only 2 meters from the epicenter of the explosion that killed Vladlen Tatarsky. But currently she says she is feeling okay. She has to endure one more operation on her hand, but the worst is already behind her.”

Elena is one of the organizers of the volunteer group called ZOV-HEARTS-HELP THE FRONT. Each sub-group “adopts” a unit to help. Elena’s team helps the 13th Tank Regiment. She can be reached on Telegram @ElenaTelnych.

This entry was posted in Breaking News, Military and War, Navalniana, True Crime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Ukraine War Day #412: Vladlen Assassination Eye-Witness Speaks Out

  1. Liborio Guaso says:

    It is possible that she was only used without knowing the assassins’ plans. But one way or another it’s just a matter of time and at any moment she’ll start singing like she’s at Eurovision. The strange thing is that the plan did not include assassinating the messenger as usual to avoid annoying witnesses.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      My assumption is that the terrorists belonged to a cadre-type cell, a sort of cult-like structure, and tried to take care of each other, maybe even liked each other and acted like a sort of quasi family.
      Hence, they wouldn’t sacrifice a comrade unless they had to. Also, the alleged assassin, Trepova, made a good-faith effort to change her appearance and flee the country; she just wasn’t fast enough!

      Like

  2. Qolotlh Kernow says:

    Brave Elena. The 13th Tank Regiment have a good supporter there. Best wishes for her recovery.

    QK

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Steve says:

    The story is truly amazing. I pray Elena gets well soon! She is a hero.

    Like

  4. nicolaavery says:

    As with others, best wishes to Elena and others. What a great lady, very brave too

    Like

  5. “Nastya” is spectacularly nasty, isn’t she? Also not very bright, obviously. Did she really think she could get away with it?

    I think she survived the bomb by dumb luck. It is highly unlikely that her confederate would have cared enough to save her life. Quite the contrary, dead terrorists tell no tales.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      I think she thought she would get away with it. I read accounts that she simply waltzed out of the cafe after the blast, took evasive action (changing taxi cabs several times), went to a different city, changed her hair color, was about to leave the country when she was arrested. She did everything that a good amateur spy is supposed to do. The cops were just too fast for her.

      Like

  6. countrumford says:

    Didn’t the Crimean bridge truck bomb driver die in the explosion. Remotely detonated. Alsothere was a story in the USA about two Russian lads who sailed a small boat to Alaska to avoid conscription. Was there any thing in the Russian press about that and what ever happened to those two guys? My searching turns up nothing but a memory hole. I feel like I am gaslighting myself some days.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      countrumford, I didn’t see anything in the Russian press about the 2 Russian lads who fled to Alaska; but you have to understand that I can only spare an hour or 2 a day to skim Russian press looking for material for my blog. So I might have missed something. It probably happened, and I doubt if you are gaslighting yourself!

      Re. the Crimean bridge truck bomb driver: I haven’t seen much about that recently, but I think the working theory was that he was an innocent dupe who didn’t know he was going to die. In other words, he didn’t know that he was carrying a bomb. And whoever detonated the bomb remotely was probably driving behind him or at a distance on the bridge.

      I have my own theory about this event, which I have expressed several times on my blog. My theory is this (and I have no way to prove or disprove it):

      Darya Dugina was killed on Aug 20, 2022 when a driver, driving somewhere behind her, detonated a bomb concealed in her car.

      On October 8, 2022 the terrorist explosion occurred on the Crimean Bridge.

      I believe (without proof, just a hunch) that the 2 incidents were related. My theory is that the Dugina assassination was a cynical dress rehearsal for the second event. The Ukrainian terrorists wanted to do a “Proof of Concept” proving that they could remotely set off an explosion while dynamically following another vehicle in a very dynamic situation on the road.

      Like

  7. S Brennan says:

    Wow, what a story, amazing, thanks Y,

    Western Ukrainia reminds me of Pakistan…betrayal, venality, lethality..a cultural obsession with evil mechanisms of vengeance…which reminds me of the obsessions of DC & London’s 3LAs. The overlap of a ven diagram perhaps? And then there’s revelation that the US recently helped Ukrainia develop a long range rocket in the hopes of striking Russia directly. BTW, didn’t Pakistan trade rocket secrets with North Korea for nuclear weapons? And so it goes.

    When will the 3LAs chickens come home to roost…I guess, if you have a mansion by the sea with a 24/7/365 security detail, things like that don’t worry you much?

    Like

  8. JMF says:

    With one finger working again, Elena can type almost as well as I do.

    Great story, and best wishes to this remarkable lady!

    Like

  9. Daniel Rich says:

    Pizza delivery… But who concocted this greasy wheel…?

    That’s the real question.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Well, it’s no secret that the Ukrainian secret services have been recruiting Russian Liberal pro-Westie youth. Whom I loosely refer to as “Navalnyites”. Recruiting them to become violent terrorists.
      This will be a problem for Russian cops to deal with, possibly for some years to come. The good news is, I don’t believe these terrorist cells will be anywhere near as dangerous nor effective as the previous wave consisting of radical Islamists. These Navalnyites just don’t have the right stuff to be proper headchoppers.

      Like

  10. Can anyone who’s still on Twitter go to this character’s tweet and ask him if it’s ten days yet?

    Also ask him why he removed the blueyellow nazi rag from his profile.

    He’ll block you immediately but it’ll be worth it.

    Like

Leave a comment