Ukraine War Day #824: Escaping To Russia – Part IV

Dear Readers:

Today continuing (and concluding) this story about an ordinary working woman and her family, who, along with millions of other refugees, escaped from the Donbass to Russia. We have watched them rebuilding their lives with material assistance from volunteer organizations. Which good people help their fellow man to maintain a shred of human dignity in a cruel and heartless world that is collapsing from the weight of war.

I have done the best I can with my translation, but I fear I have not really captured a lot of the Russian colloquialisms and everyday humor in Natalia’s speech.

A volunteer organization associated with the Moscow Patriarchate donates children’s clothing.

Natalia: Refugees from the Ukraine have been helped, not just by volunteer organizations, but also individual, ordinary people like themselves. My girlfriend arrived in Zelenograd with her whole family: husband, three children, elderly parents. Maria Makeeva had an acquaintance whose apartment happened to be empty at that time. And he allowed the family to settle in his empty apartment, without taking rent from them. They lived there for three months, which was enough time for them to get back on their feet.

Refugees help other refugees. Zelenograd has many refugees, and we have what Russians jokingly call “Radio Sarafan[yalensis: female gossip circles, named after the traditional Russian embroidered dress, the sarafan]. These circles spread the knowledge, who is who, and who needs what. For example, I recently donated a lot of winter clothing, shoes and even ice skates, that my own kids had grown out of, but could be perfect for younger kids. And, in return, I took a small sofa from a woman who didn’t need it any more. Another woman I know makes these little colorful rubber hair ties, and all the little girls in our neighborhood go around wearing them, they look so cute!

Volunteer medics from Tambov help refugees from Mariupol.

There is one very important task that I still have to get to: I need to formalize our guardianship over the two girls. They are still living on their Ukrainian paperwork. But there is a catch: I cannot adopt them unless I physically return to Kremennaya. Not only that, but I would have to take the two girls back with me, to appear in person, because that is how the procedure works. I have been reassured [by Russian authorities] that the Ukrainian documents are still valid until 2026, so that nobody can take the girls away from me. But they are growing up too, and the time will come when they need to get their affairs in order. I am hoping that someday everything will quiet down, and we can all return home, to Kremennaya.

I long to return to Kremennaya and stay there, once and for all. Well, the house that we used to live in, it’s been damaged, the Ukrainians did finally succeed in taking down that transformer. The windows have been blown out, the roof is damaged, there are holes in the wall the size of a fist, the fence has turned into a cheese grater. One shell landed in the dirt directly behind the house, and sappers had to disarm it. The gas pipe was also damaged, it was pierced by a fragment. It was only a miracle that saved the house from blowing up — our neighbors plugged up the hole in the gas pipe with wood chips. Once all of this has finished and we get back home, we are going to have a lot of work on our hands, fixing everything: We will need a new roof, new windows, patch up all the holes. Our older sons don’t want us to leave, they say, “Mama! There is no reason for you to ever go back!” But my husband and I, we really want to go back. After all, that is the place where my parents are buried, that is my native land.

More than anything, I want to see peace and quiet. I long to wake up in the morning in my own home, walk out into the yard – as if nothing had ever happened. As if this were all just a bad dream, and now I am awake.

I also want to see the children strong on their own feet, and I want them to be able to forget that any of this ever happened. Right now they are normal kids, they have recovered completely from all that they endured in Kremennaya. It took a while though: When we first arrived in Zelenograd they were very jumpy, all it took was the sound of a firework going off, and they would immediately hurl themselves to the ground.

But the main thing for me: When I think back over my life, the first thing that I remember is not the war, but I think of that day when my third son was born. It was winter, I was 36 years old, already I was not a youngster any more. But what a marvelous happiness I felt! I feel that my husband and I are very fortunate people. We have five children, four grandchildren, and there might be even more in the future. A large family: This is our salvation, and our joy. Everything else is just trivial.

[THE END]

This entry was posted in Human Dignity, Military and War. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ukraine War Day #824: Escaping To Russia – Part IV

  1. S Brennan says:

    An interesting read Y, taking in war refugees that plan on returning to their homeland after the war against Russia concludes is heartening. Fortunately, Russia is not overly finacialized by Wall Street’s “need” to intrude into all levels of the economy which is the core problem of the US’s housing “market”. Additionally, there are jobs that need filling because, Russia’s educational system keeps producing high skill workers leaving many low end jobs available and…that’s a good thing, people need a place to start/start-over.
    ———————————-
    Interesting read from [https://mtmalinen.substack.com/p/the-endgame-part-ii] on the DC/London-led war against Russia, [Crimean-War 2.0] and the very real possibility that it will lead to WW III. I know some here will pick apart portions of the missive but, I suggest reading it with an open mind as I found many truths within:

    The Russian mindset is not so complex or chaotic as many in the West make it to be…Finland cemented her position beside the Soviet Union by not making herself a threat…Finland coexist[ed] and prosper[ed] alongside Russia (Soviet Union) based on [economic] strength and keeping friendly relations with Moscow. Easy recipe.

    The problem Europe now faces is two-fold. First, after Finland became a full member of the NATO, Russia has been cornered from every side in Europe by a force it does not consider peaceful, which is something we really cannot blame the Russian leadership for. Previous Finnish leaders knew that if Finland makes herself a threat to Russia, consequences will be dire. Ukrainian leadership must have known this too, but they were clearly manipulated by western leaders. Secondly, we can now conclude that NATO is not what it says it is….

    Liked by 1 person

    • yalensis says:

      Well, anybody who has taken a red pill must be aware, by now, that NATO is no defensive alliance, and that it’s actual aim is to dismember Russia and gut it of its resources. Finns, like other nations in the region, always knew it was prudent to be on good terms with Russia, however much you despise Russia, you no attack it, it no attack you. And everybody prosper, that was the rule.

      The only reason countries like Finland and Ukraine deviated from that and decided to make of Russia an open and full-blown enemy: Like the article says, they were “manipulated” by Western leaders. More specifically, they were convinced that the current project to dismember Russia is a viable one, and they wanted to be on the winning side. Just like, a couple of generations back, they calculated that the Nazis would win.

      I can see why a betting man would have calculated the Nazis would win. Not so clear why anyone believes that NATO is going to win this war. But it worries me that they think that, because they must have been offered some persuasive reasons to believe that. It can’t all just be wishful thinking, they must have been given specific arguments and guarantees. That’s what worries me…

      But my readers know I am a perennial worrier, so don’t pay any attention to me!

      Liked by 1 person

      • james says:

        unfortunately money buys power.. a lot of folks along the way, want to access that money too..this war is about a way from some to profit off of the misery of others.. sad, but true… politicians typically fall into this category and zelensky definitely falls in this category..

        Like

      • S Brennan says:

        “Manipulation” of leaders might not be a strong enough word…as the Fico* assassination attempt recently reminded us. And let’s not forget how the US Department of State [DoS] sent Viktor Yanukovych running for his life and selected his “successor”…not exactly what I think of as “manipulation”.

        However, I think the preferred method these days is for 3LA/DoS to use NGOs to identify potential quislings who are deeply flawed…possessing, hidden, socially-unacceptable peccadilloes, these humanoids are then groomed, promoted and installed into the recipient host country; it’s easier, less obtrusive than the traditional 3LA/DoS methods of murder, blackmail and extortion.

        Even in the latter case this form of international parasitism makes the term “manipulation” appear a bit disingenuous.

        *And remember folks, the 3LAs are not xenophilic, when it comes to assassination, they’re perfectly willing to shoot titular American leaders that dare diverge from their script.

        Like

      • davidt says:

        Don’t forget that NATO is also a large bureaucracy, and that most of its incumbents want to continue to receive their salaries and superannuation. Such people are quite likely to keep their heads down and support whatever decisions, crazy or otherwise, are made above them. Ultimately, these decisions are made by a very small group of people who, for the most part, live far away, seemingly safe, in the US. There is also an idealogical and racist component in these people’s thinking. Don’t the Russians understand that we are superior to them in all sorts of ways? If only someone would bump Putin off.

        Thanks to Yalensis for the 4 articles and to S Brennan for the interesting link.

        Like

        • yalensis says:

          Thanks, David, I am glad you enjoyed the series.

          You are right that the fate of the world and all its 8 billion people appears to be in the hands of a tiny group of scumbags who seem to be a kind of Hannibal Lecter personality.

          Like

  2. australianlady9 says:

    Thanks yalensis for this four part series with the nice accompanying photographs.

    It goes some way to assuaging, if only temporarily, the acute tension which I am experiencing at this juncture of the war, which sees a defeated Ukraine being replaced with the combined forces of a belligerent NATO.

    I’ve just read S. Brennan’s link. Tuomas Malinen’s thoughtful prognostications are essential reading for this moment in history. S.Brennan- thanks for that.

    Like

    • S Brennan says:

      Thank you for the kind word…

      Like

    • yalensis says:

      Dear AustralianLady: I know what you mean by experiencing acute tension. I feel it too, almost all the time now. Occasionally I feel some relief when I am out on the ice, doing my morning workout at the skating rink. I skate almost every morning before heading to work. I recommend doing something physical, maybe dancing, if you like doing that. Aside from that I cannot really offer any words of wisdom, or advice. Things are getting pretty darned scary, and I am really worried that NATO is just gonna go for it, once they feel like they have knocked out enough radar stations within the Russian mainland. But we, who can’t do anything about it, we just cope as best we can and find ways to ease our own tension, hopefully in healthy ways, like exercise or dance. Or art, literature, music. Yes, especially music!

      Anyhow, I am glad you liked my “human-interest” series, I do think it is nice to stay grounded in the lives of ordinary people like this.

      Like

  3. Imagine the PTSD of Gaza children.

    Like

Leave a comment