How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – July Edition

Dear Readers:

I can’t believe it’s August 1, where the heck did the summer go?  Where I live in the Northeastern part of the USA, the trees are already turning yellow, can you believe it?  I am thinking of holding foliage tours in my own back yard.  I know that tourists pay big bucks to see foliage.  So I reckon I’ll just walk them out into the yard, point, “Look, there’s a yellow tree, that will be $100 bucks, thank you very much.”  Easy money.

Philip to the Judge: “I hate you, you bastard!”

Meanwhile, on the Awful Avalanche front, like I explained last month, I was forced to fire those two adorable moppets, Little Eva and Topsy.  They were cute kids, and I wish them well, but they just weren’t Team Players.

Long story short, I hired me some new staff to bring my blog statistics up.  Now, this “dream team” is still in the probational phase, mind you, but it basically consists of the following Triumvirate: Lieutenant Philip Nolan (aka “The Man Without a Country”)  in Advertising; along with Blanche DuBois (“A Streetcar Named Desire”) in Special Promotions; and last but not least, Willy Loman (“Death of a Salesman”) in Sales.  Willy has already been pounding the pavement drumming up new customers; so far all he got me with a comment-troll, but I reckon that’s a start.

And now down to the raw numbers:  Here are my closing-month metrics: Page Views went up– from 3,803 in June to 4,837 in July. Number of Distinct Number of visitors also went up, from 1,759 to 2,093.

Next on the agenda:  My standard disclaimer:

Blanche really cares about my readers.

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

Next: Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • We started the month of July with this 3-part series  on the new school curriculum in the Donetsk/Luhansk Peoples Repubics.  I don’t know about you, but I’m rooting for those Donbass kids to get a good education.  Study, study, study, kids!
  • Followed by this 4-part series on the Siemens Turbines issue.  Unless you’re an engineer, turbines might seem like a boring topic, but I assure you it’s very exciting.
  • This story on the new Russian citizenship oath is quite interesting, I think.
  • I had a lot of fun writing my movie review of “Life” – now, that’s one scary monster flic!
  • Followed by this piece on Bolshevik politician Lev Kamenev.  And highlighting the fact that we are just a couple of months away from the 100th anniversary of The Really Big Show!
  • Next an intriguing moment as Donetsk leader Zakharchenko reintroduces the term “Malorossiya” to agape Westies, in this 2-parter.
  • Then this mainly translation piece of the diary of a Kiev resident.
  • Followed by another translation piece, this time involving the President of Transnistria.  And yes, that IS a real country.
  • And then closing the month with Airplane I and the sequel Airplane II.  And no, as far as I know, in neither episode was Little Joey invited to visit Captain Oveur in the cockpit.

And now for that Pomp and Circumstance that everybody has been waiting for: It is time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 2,093 July visitors hail from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here:

 

United States 2377
Canada 346
United Kingdom 317
Russia 256
New Zealand 193
Australia 172
Finland 116
Germany 102
Mexico 88
Hungary 79
France 63
Romania 38
Poland 37
India 33
Italy 32
Saudi Arabia 31
Switzerland 31
Ireland 28
Brazil 28
Czech Republic 24
Spain 23
Belgium 21
Sweden 20
Ukraine 20
Croatia 19
Netherlands 19
Turkey 19
Japan 18
Slovakia 16
South Africa 16
Austria 15
Greece 15
Denmark 13
Norway 12
Thailand 11
Azerbaijan 11
Latvia 9
Estonia 8
Serbia 8
United Arab Emirates 8
Indonesia 8
Chile 7
Portugal 7
Malaysia 7
Hong Kong SAR China 7
Ghana 6
Oman 6
European Union 6
Colombia 5
Libya 5
Nigeria 5
Argentina 4
Bolivia 4
Slovenia 4
Singapore 4
Pakistan 4
Israel 3
Andorra 3
Bulgaria 3
Tanzania 3
Montenegro 3
Cameroon 2
China 2
Panama 2
Qatar 2
Vietnam 2
Lithuania 2
Cambodia 2
Morocco 2
Peru 1
Bangladesh 1
Myanmar (Burma) 1
Brunei 1
Bahrain 1
Egypt 1
Taiwan 1
Sri Lanka 1
Georgia 1
Lebanon 1
South Korea 1
Kenya 1
Monaco 1
Kazakhstan 1
Guyana 1
Belarus 1
Moldova 1
Iceland 1
Ethiopia 1
Nepal 1
Lesotho 1
Dominican Republic 1

Thanks for visiting my blog, and have a sparkling day!

Sincerely yours,
yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

