How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – June Edition

Dear Readers:

Well here I am again, a day late and a dollar short.  There have been some changes in my management team, so first off I have to explain why I had to fire those two adorable moppets Little Eva and Topsy.  Yes, I was forced to send those two brats back to their villa at Lake Pontchartrain!  Instead of racking up more page hits for me, they were spending all their time (it turns out) cutting up Aunt Ophelia’s bonnets in order to sew little doll jackets.  This is the main explanation why “sales” were down last month.

FYI: Cassie and Emmeline are hiding in your attic!

The position of Chief Overseer of Awful Avalanche is now up for grabs.  Main job requirement:  it must be a known character from classic American literature.  And yes, Whales can apply too, I am an equal-opportunity employer.  Please note that there is no salary involved, we all work pro bono here.  In other words, we all work for this guy named Bono…

Currently, I have two applicants:  Commander John Claggart (from “Billy Budd”) wants his old job back, with a kind of “I told you so” sneer on his face.  But there is a new candidate too:  Simon Legree from “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”.  Simon has a can-do type of attitude that I like; but people warn me about his irrational outbursts and superstitiousness.  For example, Simon is convinced that the attic of his plantation manor is haunted by ghosts.  Personally, I just think it’s his two quadroon mistresses, Cassie and Emmeline, playing “gas-light” type tricks on his mind.  Either way, this is a mark on the negative side of Simon’s ledger.  As a job candidate, I mean.

William Williamforce

Be that as it may,
Without further ado or cliché:

Here are the closing-month metrics:  Page Views went down – from 4,779 in May to 3,803 in June. Number of Distinct Number of visitors also went down, from 1,890 to 1,759.  Sadly we are getting into French-and-Indian War type numbers.  On the bright side, 1759 was the year in which was born the great English abolitionist, William Williamforce.  A force for good if ever such a force there was.

Despite seasonal fluctuations in the numbers, I am overall very happy with the progress of my blog.  My series on Russian ballet garnered a respectable number of readers, especially considering that this is just a niche market within a niche market.  My numbers tend to pick up when I do more “red-meat” type stories, like Syria or the Ukraine.

On the positive side of the ledger:  Several of my posts get routinely picked up now by Johnson’s Russia List.  Which I consider a great honor, especially since what I do is not strictly translation.  My shtick is more like review and commentary.  Either way, I am happy to have new readers!  And now for my standard disclaimer:

It’s a lonely job, but somebody has to do it.

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

Next: Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • We started the month of June with Lyttenburgh’s excellent and very thought-provoking post on the Deep State.
  • I posted this 2-part series on the “Hamlet of the Arbat” case, in which Komsomolskaya Pravda interviewed the family of the child in what could have been an explosive political case for the Russian police.
  • Then this 2-parter on a routine Balto-Slavic catfight, with some detours into Lithuanian folklore.  Turned out to be quite a snakey piece!
  • Next this 3-parter on the Syria war, based on a Krutikov piece in VZGLIAD.  Several of Krutikov’s prognoses have turned out to be right on target, with ISIS fleeing the battleground, and American “advisors” left in a state of deep disarray.
  • And closing the month with my mammoth 9-part post on Russian ballet.  Again, this is a niche within a niche.  But what most people don’t realize is that Russian ballet is the canary in the coalmine, it’s the litmus paper of the Russian situation, it’s the…. oh, never mind!  Just go back and read it!

And now for that Pomp and Circumstance that everybody has been waiting for: It is time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 1,759 June visitors hail from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.:

 

United States 1223
New Zealand 402
Australia 387
United Kingdom 354
Russia 233
Canada 194
Finland 109
Germany 57
Romania 54
Mexico 46
Netherlands 37
Hungary 33
Czech Republic 32
Sweden 28
Brazil 26
Singapore 26
France 25
Ukraine 25
United Arab Emirates 25
Belgium 24
India 23
Poland 22
Switzerland 20
Estonia 20
Italy 19
Ireland 18
Israel 18
Japan 16
Indonesia 16
Turkey 15
Spain 15
Denmark 14
Norway 13
South Africa 11
Bangladesh 10
Portugal 10
Austria 10
Croatia 9
Azerbaijan 9
Argentina 9
Malaysia 9
Latvia 8
Taiwan 7
Greece 7
Lithuania 7
European Union 7
Thailand 6
Colombia 6
Libya 6
Tunisia 5
Malta 5
Slovenia 5
China 4
Puerto Rico 4
Serbia 4
Nigeria 4
Philippines 4
Bulgaria 4
Slovakia 3
Trinidad & Tobago 3
Morocco 3
Cayman Islands 3
Qatar 3
Hong Kong SAR China 3
Sri Lanka 2
South Korea 2
Barbados 2
Iraq 2
Kazakhstan 2
Zimbabwe 2
Saudi Arabia 2
Pakistan 2
Peru 2
Kenya 1
Nepal 1
Namibia 1
Tanzania 1
Bosnia & Herzegovina 1
Ghana 1
Vietnam 1
Belarus 1
Cambodia 1
Brunei 1
Chile 1
Montenegro 1
Bahrain 1
Armenia 1
Lebanon 1
Luxembourg 1
Kyrgyzstan 1
Macedonia 1
Liechtenstein 1
Monaco 1
Mongolia 1
Bolivia 1
Bahamas 1
Maldives 1
Jordan 1
Cyprus 1
Palestinian Territories 1

Thanks to all y’alls for visiting my blog, folks!

Sincerely yours,
yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – June Edition

  1. Matt says:

    There are other avenues to promote this blog. I’m sure you can find some amongst the >25,000 subscribers of reddit.com/r/russia. Try Reddit!

    What do you think about this video?

    My opinion on Navlany isn’t as high as before, since he pulled the protest area switcharoo stunt, but still, this is like a scene from a post-apocalyptic movie.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Why, it’s like the Pensioners Senior Auxiliary Wing of the Nashi Youth Group – LOL!

      Seriously, Matt, I think these shenanigans falls a tad short of Apocalyptic
      Remember that the Maidan types set the bar very high.

      Like

Leave a Reply

