How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – May Edition

Greetings, Dear Readers, this is Little Eva again from “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”. Along with my dear friend, Topsy.   We were just having a lively discussion about the month of May, and all the nice people who came to visit this blog.  Meanwhile, Aunt Dinah is in the kitchen baking a tasty pie for us to celebrate the beginning of summer.  With Aunt Ophelia closely supervising the proceedings, it goes without saying.  And later this afternoon Uncle Tom will bring up my favorite pony, and maybe we can go for a trot!

Topsy:  Yeah, well it was a good month, overall, I would reckon.  For starters, our Page Views went up – from 4,600 to 4,779.  Yet our Distinct Number of visitors went down, from 2,025 to 1,890.  What do you make of that, Evangeline?

Little Eva:  Fluctuations do occur from month to month, Dear Topsy, I believe this shows that we have a solid readership core, and that many of our blogposts are of interest to them!

yalensis speaking here: Thanks again for crunching the numbers, kiddos, and now it’s time for my usual disclaimer:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

Next: Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • I began with my May 2 post commemorating the Odessa tragedy.
  • Followed by this short piece on a Ukrainian miners strike.  I try to cover labor news whenever I can.
  • Then this piece on the American Deep State blindly marching to war against Russia.  When our planet lies as a dying smoking cinder, will anybody be left alive to remember who was that one lone dissenting vote?
  • I like this piece about Soviet actor Innokenty Smoktunovsky.  Who even knew that this talented artist was also a war hero?
  • And venturing into the fascinating world of Russian history and archaeology…
  • I got good reactions to my 3-part translation of Tatiana Herashchenko’s personal account of what it was like to celebrate “Victory Day” in the Ukraine, a nation which now officially honors the other side.
  • Followed by — on a complete different plane of existence! — a 4-part review of the Metropolitan Opera production of Der Rosenkavalier.
  • This 2-part series on Ukrainian amber wars received a good reaction from the readers.
  • And, finally, my masterpiece for the month:  This whopping 7-parter began as a story about the Euronews media outlet, but soon evolved into a personal indulgence of mine:  A burning desire to educate people about Scientific Linguistics.  In the context of the Ukrainian language.
  • And, of course, I finished the month with the breaking story of the “Arbat Hamlet” boy.  It remains to be seen whether this is story is just an insigificant flash in the pan, or will turn into the next “Pussy Riot”.  Since I blinked away the significance of Pussy Riot, I wanted to be on the ball for this one.  Just in case.

And now for that Pomp and Circumstance that everybody has been waiting for: It is time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 1,890 May visitors hail from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.:

 

United States 1294
Australia 454
United Kingdom 429
New Zealand 419
Russia 414
Canada 310
Finland 268
Germany 106
Malaysia 102
Latvia 68
Romania 49
Ireland 42
Czech Republic 36
Mexico 36
Spain 33
Ukraine 32
Poland 31
Sweden 31
Netherlands 30
South Africa 29
Croatia 28
India 28
Belgium 28
Brazil 24
France 23
Switzerland 21
Norway 20
United Arab Emirates 20
Hungary 20
Denmark 19
Italy 19
Serbia 16
European Union 16
Bulgaria 15
Estonia 14
Thailand 14
Singapore 13
Turkey 11
Greece 11
Austria 10
Japan 10
Azerbaijan 9
Slovakia 9
South Korea 8
Taiwan 8
Argentina 8
Kenya 7
Hong Kong SAR China 7
Libya 6
Indonesia 6
Macedonia 6
Slovenia 6
Pakistan 6
Israel 5
Lithuania 5
Portugal 5
Nigeria 5
Montenegro 4
Oman 4
Vietnam 4
Belarus 4
Barbados 3
Peru 3
Georgia 3
Saudi Arabia 3
Venezuela 2
Egypt 2
Colombia 2
Moldova 2
Algeria 2
St. Lucia 2
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Bangladesh 2
Isle of Man 2
Jordan 2
Bolivia 1
Kyrgyzstan 1
Chile 1
Bahamas 1
Lebanon 1
U.S. Virgin Islands 1
Costa Rica 1
Nepal 1
Nicaragua 1
Réunion 1
Cambodia 1
Mauritius 1
Qatar 1
Uruguay 1
Cyprus 1
Malta 1
Iceland 1
Sri Lanka 1
Morocco 1
Panama 1
Tanzania 1
Ecuador 1
Bahrain 1
Paraguay 1

Thank you for visiting my blog, folks.  Please come back again, if you don’t then Little Eva might die, and you wouldn’t want that on your conscience….

Sincerely yours,
yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

