How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – April Edition

Greetings, Dear Readers, this is Little Eva from “Uncle Tom’s Cabin”.  Along with my beloved pal, Topsy.  Oh, you just caught us playing with our dolly.  Anyhow, after last month’s dip in Visitor Visitations, we fired that brute John Claggart and took over the Metrics Department at Awful Avalanche.  Topsy: Yeh!  John’s methods were unsound and repelled our readers!  Who wants to visit a site that routinely hangs our poor, dear, dear Billy?

Eva:   And our girlish sweetness and benevolent leadership paid off!  In the month of April, Page Views have gone up – from 4,350 to 4,600.

Topsy:  For our second metric, the number of Distinct Visitors, the number also went up, from  1,834 to 2,025.   And keep in mind that April is a shorter month than March!

Eva:  That’s true, my dearest friend Topsy!  April only has 30 days, compared to 31 in March!  It was willed so by Jesus.

yalensis speaking here:   Thanks for crunching the numbers, brats girls!  Now get back to your Human Computer lab in the East Wing of my mansion, because it’s time for my usual disclaimer:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

Next: Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • The highlight of April, and most likely one of the reasons for our upswing in metrics, was guest-poster Lyttenburgh’s 6-part series on Futurology, which we started on April 3.  Lyttenburgh himself came up with the clever idea of interleaving his essay with “Breaking News” stories, in order to beef up reader interest and suspense.
  • Among which “Breaking News” stories, I am proud of this 2-parter about chemical weapons, and Donald Trump’s egregious lies about Syria.
  • With Lyttenburgh’s piece finished, I moved on to this somewhat sad story about a Russian emigre who seemingly made a hasty and misinformed life choice.
  • I am particularly proud of my 2-part opera review of Eugene Onegin at the Met.  Anyone who loves opera but hasn’t read this yet, please read it and let me know what you think.
  • And then I ended the month — why it seems like just yesterday! — with this 2-part review of the Hollywood movie “Hidden Figures”.

And now for that Pomp and Circumstance that everybody has been waiting for: It is time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 2,025  April visitors hail from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.:

 

United States 1450
United Kingdom 458
Russia 446
Australia 386
New Zealand 371
Canada 273
Germany 110
Finland 77
Netherlands 64
Turkey 52
Ireland 49
Czech Republic 48
Mexico 47
United Arab Emirates 45
Spain 40
Romania 38
France 35
Belgium 29
Sweden 28
Poland 27
Italy 27
India 26
Norway 23
Singapore 21
Ukraine 21
Brazil 21
Denmark 19
Estonia 17
Azerbaijan 15
South Africa 15
Serbia 15
Philippines 13
Portugal 12
Israel 11
Montenegro 11
Switzerland 11
Indonesia 11
Latvia 11
Greece 11
Lithuania 10
Hungary 10
Chile 9
Pakistan 9
Austria 9
Croatia 9
Argentina 8
Thailand 8
Bulgaria 8
European Union 8
Jamaica 8
Hong Kong SAR China 7
Japan 7
Slovenia 6
Georgia 5
Malaysia 5
Saudi Arabia 5
Kenya 5
Nigeria 4
Bangladesh 4
Cyprus 3
Trinidad & Tobago 3
Myanmar (Burma) 3
Nepal 2
Ghana 2
Slovakia 2
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Vietnam 2
Moldova 2
Armenia 2
Albania 2
Puerto Rico 2
Qatar 2
Guatemala 2
Costa Rica 2
Peru 2
Libya 2
Kazakhstan 2
Colombia 1
Iceland 1
Tunisia 1
Mozambique 1
Sri Lanka 1
New Caledonia 1
Kyrgyzstan 1
Cambodia 1
Belarus 1
Jersey 1
Nicaragua 1
Dominican Republic 1
Monaco 1
Venezuela 1
Lebanon 1
Macedonia 1
Aruba 1
Brunei 1
Malta 1

Thanks for visiting my blog, folks and y’all come again real soon!
Sincerely yours,
yalensis

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

