How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – February Edition

Greetings, Dear Readers, once again this is John Claggart from “Billy Budd”.

“We’ve gone INSANE, we’re SLASHING all prices!”

This is my second month in charge of “Awful Avalanche” metrics.  Fully replacing Roderick Usher who attempted to abandon ship, so I had that creepy scalliwag keel-hauled.  Needless to say, his pale skin couldn’t withstand all the barnacle scrapes.

First the excuses, and then the numbers.  As everyone knows, February is a short month, if only we had the three extra days to catch up to January; as it is, we fully anticipated the metrics to go down on Billy’s watch.  In other words, The Angel Must Hang.

Let’s get to it, me hearties:  For Metric #1, i.e., the page views, compared to January, the number went down from 4,860 to 4,020.

For Metric #2, which is the one we care about more, i.e., number of distinct visitors, the number also went down, from 2,246 to 2,123.

Billy: “Captain Vere, do you think we could be just a tad more homoerotic?” Starry Vere: “Snap out of it, Billy, I need more page views!”

Next on today’s agenda: the usual yalensis disclaimer:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

This is yalensis speaking now. Thank you for posting the ledger book, Mr. Claggart.  And please send the H.M.S. Bellipotent through the Touchless Ship Wash to remove those unsightly blood stains from the keel.  I’ll even pay extra for the Barnacle-Remover and waxy underwash.

Next:  Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • On February 2, I posted this piece about declassified CIA documents proving what people have known all along:  That the American government and CIA supported Stepan Bandera’s Ukrainian nationalists against the Soviet government.
  • On February 5, I posted the first of a 2-part story about Ivan Mazepa, a fascinating historical character of the early 1700’s.
  • On February 7, I posted the first of a 3-part review of the Bolshoi Ballet Swan Lake.  I hope there were some people out there, and not just ballet buffs, who enjoyed reading this review.
  • On February 13, I posted the first installment of a marathon 6-part series on a fascinating story from the Stalin era.  Namely, the beatification of the 19th-century poet Alexander Pushkin.  Although I don’t agree with the essayist’s overall ideological slant, I think he raised some valid points about the retrograde historical and cultural processes taking place in the 1930’s.
  • From culture to economics:  On February 24, I posted the first of a 2-part series on the situation in the Donbass, especially the issue of the coking coal mines.
  • And then two in a row “raw meat” pieces:  First a polemic about Babi Yar and the attempts of Ukrainian nationalists to take something away from the Jews, which doesn’t belong to them;
  • And finally, my last piece of the month, another ethnic scorcher, which is my movie review of Nate Parker’s “Birth Of A Nation”.

And now for that Pomp and Circumstance that everybody has been waiting for: It is time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 2,123 February visitors hail from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.   And yes, for those geeks out there, I do see that the Autosum number adds up to 4,015, not 4,020 page views.  How many times does Mr. Claggart have to tell you that neither he, nor the late Mr. Usher have the time to account for these minor discrepancies in the numbers?  Let’s just call it “Margin of Error”.

Anyhow, here we go once again:

 

United States 1330
United Kingdom 404
Canada 346
Australia 295
New Zealand 215
Russia 200
Germany 87
Finland 79
Mexico 58
Norway 55
Czech Republic 53
France 53
Romania 50
Malaysia 46
Spain 44
Netherlands 37
Ireland 36
Ukraine 34
Sweden 31
Italy 27
European Union 26
Greece 26
Bulgaria 25
Brazil 25
United Arab Emirates 24
South Africa 24
India 22
Poland 19
Serbia 16
Libya 16
Slovakia 15
Belgium 15
Austria 14
Singapore 13
Japan 12
Philippines 12
Switzerland 12
Oman 11
Hungary 11
Turkey 10
Croatia 10
Kenya 8
Azerbaijan 8
Portugal 8
Denmark 8
Indonesia 8
Pakistan 7
Argentina 6
Bosnia & Herzegovina 6
Slovenia 6
Sri Lanka 5
Latvia 5
Thailand 5
Lithuania 5
Nigeria 4
Hong Kong SAR China 4
Tanzania 4
Israel 4
Cyprus 3
Saudi Arabia 3
Georgia 3
Albania 3
Belarus 3
Macedonia 3
Egypt 3
Bangladesh 3
Bahamas 2
Dominican Republic 2
Liberia 2
Ghana 2
South Korea 2
Trinidad & Tobago 2
Taiwan 2
Maldives 2
Kazakhstan 2
Estonia 2
Malta 2
Peru 2
Moldova 2
Vietnam 2
Bahrain 2
Mauritius 1
Namibia 1
Cameroon 1
Kyrgyzstan 1
Montenegro 1
Nicaragua 1
Ecuador 1
Luxembourg 1
Lesotho 1
Nepal 1
Suriname 1
Kuwait 1
Algeria 1
Isle of Man 1
Tunisia 1
Aruba 1
Laos 1
Zimbabwe 1
Uruguay 1
Lebanon 1
Monaco 1
Costa Rica 1

Thanks for visiting my blog, folks!
Sincerely yours,
yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

