How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – January Edition

Greetings, Dear Readers, this is John Claggart from “Billy Budd”.

Mr. Claggart brought some needed discipline to the team.

This was my first month at “Awful Avalanche”, but after bringing some much-needed discipline to this team of amateurs, I am thrilled to announce that company metrics have finally taken an upswing.

In other news, Bartleby the Scrivener is back at his old post.  Bartleby will continue to collate and scrive the metrics, but his supervisor, Roderick Usher, will be double-checking the numbers for accuracy.  Roderick is very excited about assuming this new position.

Neither of them gets paid anything, by the way.  Nor do I, but at least I am allowed to beat them ferociously every morning, which is a cool job perk.

Roderick is ready for his Peer Review.

Be that as it may, we are having a whale of a time here, so let’s get right to the numbers.

For Metric #1, i.e., the page views, compared to December, the number went up from  4,531 to 4,860.

For Metric #2, which is the one we care about more, i.e., number of distinct visitors, the number also went up, from  1,841 to 2,246.

Next on today’s agenda: the usual yalensis disclaimer:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

Moby’s here too!

This is yalensis speaking now. Thank you for posting the ledger book, Claggart and Roderick.   I just spoke to Claggart’s boss, Captain “Starry” Vere, and Starry is very excited about the numbers this month.

Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • On January 6 I posted this piece about Ukrainian guest workers organizing trade unions in Poland.  In all of the controversies and hoopla surrounding the issue of migration, it is important to keep in mind that most migrants are just regular people in search of a job.  Put yourself in their shoes:  You would do the same thing.  And, paradoxically, the best way to keep migration in check is to organize trade unions.  Seriously.
  • On January 10 I posted this piece, with new revelations by Crimean Anti-Corruption Crusader Alexander Talipov.  This time his target was Avtodor.  The expose was, as Ostap Bender might say, “a classic of the genre”.
  • Turning to the cultural sphere, I posted this piece about the latest Eurovision gossip.  I try to do at least one Eurovision story each month, because I know that this irritates the haters.
  • After that I dived (or is that “dove”?) into the world of Big Politics with this 4-parter on the Trump sex-politics-spy scandal, aka, “Who is going to pay for that new mattress?”
  • Followed by what I think is my greatest (and longest) piece ever — this 6-part series on Lenin’s mummification.
  • After that it was all downhill, until I hooked my teeth into Diaspora Doctor Death Ulana Suprun, here and then here.

And now for that Pomp and Circumstance that everybody has been waiting for:  It is time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 2,246 January visitors hail from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here. So, voilà once again:

 

United States 1705
United Kingdom 402
Australia 370
Canada 361
Russia 304
New Zealand 258
Germany 129
Finland 92
Ireland 89
Croatia 77
France 75
Angola 60
Spain 54
Mexico 51
Czech Republic 50
Hungary 44
Norway 40
Netherlands 39
Philippines 37
Belgium 35
Italy 34
United Arab Emirates 33
Romania 32
South Africa 27
India 27
Poland 22
Denmark 19
Ukraine 19
European Union 18
Switzerland 18
Libya 18
Greece 18
Japan 17
Brazil 16
Austria 14
Sweden 14
Guyana 11
Georgia 11
Turkey 10
Latvia 10
Lebanon 9
St. Kitts & Nevis 9
Singapore 8
Vietnam 8
Nigeria 8
Thailand 8
Bulgaria 7
Slovenia 7
Portugal 6
Lithuania 6
Kuwait 6
Saudi Arabia 5
Serbia 5
Egypt 5
South Korea 5
Kazakhstan 5
Israel 5
Pakistan 4
Estonia 4
Madagascar 4
Malaysia 4
Indonesia 4
Malta 3
Ghana 3
Chile 3
Algeria 3
Barbados 3
Argentina 3
Qatar 2
Hong Kong SAR China 2
Kenya 2
Cyprus 2
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Slovakia 2
Jamaica 2
Taiwan 1
Morocco 1
Uruguay 1
Tajikistan 1
Uganda 1
Brunei 1
Lesotho 1
Panama 1
Sri Lanka 1
Cayman Islands 1
Luxembourg 1
Jordan 1
Somalia 1
Colombia 1
Isle of Man 1
Belarus 1
Namibia 1
Ecuador 1
Puerto Rico 1
Myanmar (Burma) 1
Monaco 1
Montenegro 1
Sudan 1
Bahrain 1
Bolivia 1
Suriname 1
Azerbaijan 1

 

Thanks for visiting my blog, folks!
Sincerely yours,
yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

