How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – November Edition

Hello Readers, this is Bartleby Head Of Scrivening for Awful Avalanche.   I would like to introduce a new member of our staff, Roderick Usher.  Roderick will be in charge of collating the monthly statistics which determine our fate.

Greetings, Dear Readers, this is Roderick now.  Prior to joining Awful Avalanche I worked for many years at a major compnay, developing Employee Engagement programs.  With my sunny personality “Spirit Committee” was a natural for me.  Hence, these drab metrics are a bit of a departure for me, but I shall do my best to please.

Roderick brings a wealth of experience and enthusiasm to the project.

So, let’s get right to it.  This month the numbers are DOWN DOWN DOWN.  For Metric #1, i.e., the page views, compared to October, the number went down from 4,999 to 4,509.   For Metric #2, which is the one we care about more, i.e., number of distinct visitors, the number also went down, from  2,756 to 2,246.  So, boos and opprobium all around!

Bartleby:  But… but Roderick, November was a shorter month.  Not to mention that yalensis took a 4-day vacation!   Maybe if we just had those extra days and those extra posts, then….

Roderick:  No excuses!  You are all worthless and weak.  And I am going to tell my sister on you.  Once I dig her out of the wall.

Bartleby (choking back tears): Before proceeding further, our Compliance Department requests that I add the usual yalensis disclaimer, even though I would prefer not to:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

This is yalensis speaking now. Thank you for posting the ledger book, Roderick.   I appreciate your positive attitude, and the fact that you have not immured me alive in your spooky castle just yet.

Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane. In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • I started off the month with an edgy 5-parter about the Ethnic Issue in modern Russia.  Never one to beat around the bush, no, not I!  Using an op-ed by Irina Alksnis as my starting point, I wrote about post-Soviet attempts to redefine the nature of the “Russian people”, while moving away from Leninist definitions of “nationalities” policies.
  • Then, a 3-parter about an incident local to Crimea, possibly involving the corruption of a building contractor, but taking the opportunity to also educate (and joke a bit) about Potemkin Villages, and the like.
  • My humorous piece on the Rada fight generated some buzz and got several pingbacks.
  • And then, BOOM!  Most of the rest of the month was taken up by Lyttenburgh’s marathon 7-parter about the abysmal state of modern Russian culture.  For those of you who didn’t read this yet, you need to!  Lyttenburgh, like an Old Testament prophet, brings fire and brimstone down on the “creative class”.  Their utter mendacity is a threat to our entire way of life, and that’s no joke!
  • Still licking my wounds from Lyttenburgh’s sharp rapier, I then ended the month of November with my own 2-part Kultur-Kritique, this time about a figure skating program which I personally liked, but Westie media did not.  Too uplifting, I reckon.  Westies would rather see a dancing Hitler, or even shit in a can than an actual tribute to Holocaust victims!

But now we have a reeeely big shew to get underway, so everybody grab your banners and batons — it’s time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 2,246 November visitors hailed from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.   So, voilà:

 

United States 1499
United Kingdom 512
Canada 500
Russia 324
Australia 265
New Zealand 160
Germany 120
France 78
Czech Republic 60
Denmark 58
Romania 57
Finland 56
Mexico 55
India 42
United Arab Emirates 42
South Africa 38
Switzerland 37
Norway 35
Ireland 32
Japan 27
Netherlands 26
Sweden 25
Hungary 25
Belgium 25
Kenya 22
Italy 21
Brazil 20
Turkey 19
Philippines 15
Spain 14
European Union 14
Poland 14
Bahrain 13
Ghana 12
Israel 12
Malaysia 9
Ukraine 8
Estonia 8
Latvia 8
Slovakia 8
Indonesia 7
Austria 7
Bulgaria 7
Libya 7
South Korea 7
Serbia 6
Pakistan 6
Puerto Rico 6
Slovenia 6
Saudi Arabia 5
Congo – Kinshasa 5
Nigeria 5
Uganda 5
Chile 4
Croatia 4
Kazakhstan 4
Lebanon 4
Ecuador 4
Thailand 4
Gambia 3
Jamaica 3
Vietnam 3
Portugal 3
Macedonia 3
Singapore 3
Qatar 3
Sri Lanka 3
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Moldova 2
Malta 2
Azerbaijan 2
Hong Kong SAR China 2
Greece 2
Angola 2
Iceland 2
Morocco 2
Taiwan 2
Trinidad & Tobago 2
Kuwait 2
Colombia 2
Costa Rica 2
Argentina 2
Peru 2
Montenegro 2
Fiji 2
Georgia 2
Cyprus 2
Mozambique 1
Senegal 1
Belarus 1
Bermuda 1
Lesotho 1
Botswana 1
Antigua & Barbuda 1
Suriname 1
Namibia 1
Lithuania 1
Paraguay 1
Iraq 1
Armenia 1
Macau SAR China 1
Bangladesh 1
Belize 1
Cambodia 1
Algeria 1
Egypt 1
Guatemala 1
Barbados 1
Guyana 1
Zimbabwe 1

Peoples Of the World: Thank you for visiting my blog, please come back, and please post some comments!
Sincerely yours,
yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – November Edition

  1. Jen says:

    The US Presidential election followed by the uproar over Trump’s victory, the intense speculation over Trump’s cabinet picks and Jill Stein’s recount campaign may be to blame for the downturn in views, especially if most of the downtick was among American viewers. So I really wouldn’t worry about the lower viewing figures and you should just keep going as you have done so far.

    So I predict you might get another downturn this coming month and the next (December, January) when the Electoral College decides whether to crown Trump or Clinton the winner, and what follows on from its decision. Either way, there’ll be reactions across the US: if Trump wins, there may be more Color Revolution rioting across the country, and if Clinton should get the nod, there’ll be talk of secession among the states that voted for Trump and protests and demonstrations (in which there’ll be some violence, if only because police and security forces will be baiting protesters) against the College’s decision will erupt as well. Then across January up to Inauguration Day there’ll be a focus on the cabinet secretary picks and all the other major appointments in all departments that the President has to make.

    What’s really heartening about your stats is that you have readers right across the world and not in any one particular continent or region. Who would have thought that there are people in the United Arab Emirates, of all places, reading your posts regularly enough that they clocked up 42 visits in November? (Even if none of those are repeat visits, which I doubt, those would be 42 readers you’ve picked up in a country and a region you have rarely covered.) This shows that there a huge interest in Russian culture and issues, from the more serious end of the cultural spectrum (politics, geopolitical issues) to the more light-hearted (the cat fights) and everyday (sport, entertainment) and all points, connections and meshings in-between.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Thanks, Jen! I really appreciate your comment. And we will all stay with eyes glued, no doubt, on the ensuing American political scene!

      Like

    • Lyttenburgh says:

      As always, Jen sums up it all in short and to the point way. Yes – if you’d go “mainstream” and spend the whole month discussing the US elections and their aftermath the number of visitors would surely be stratospheric. As the example of “Where is Ghadaffi’s Gold?” article shows us – if the people know about some topic and are indeed interested in it, they will make their way to your site and comment. And Russian High Art is, well, still obscure topic for many – even in Russia. So I fully understand that I’m partially to blame here with my “long-read” multi-parter on a topic which bears little to no immediate interest to the most of your Anglophonic readership.

      OTOH, if we do a little bit of number crunching for 3 Autumn months, we will see some interesting trends. In October there was an anomalous “hike” in the number of both distinct US visitors and clicks” over all. The number of visitors from other primarily Anglophonic countries (Canada, UK, NZ and Australia) also increased by a significant fraction.

      This month the number of visitors from these countries fell… but it decreased more or less equal across all of them! Well, with the exception of Canada – the number of visitors from there actually went UP and now, is probably at the record time highest point in the history of your blog! Another interesting trend – the increase of visitors from Russia. In the course of just 3 months you managed to double them, yalensis, and now they are belonging to the Top-5!

      Like

      • yalensis says:

        Thanks, Lyt, good points, and I appreciate your collation of trends!
        I don’t think there is any danger of my going “mainstream”, my blog was always aimed at a niche market. Frankly, I am quite pleased at the response, and the trends.
        And since my income doesn’t depend on this, and I do it just for fun — well, it’s all good, frankly!

        Also, don’t you worry your pretty little head about your “Culture” piece bringing down any stats, or being too “obscure” for the common man. Those pieces are exactly what I need on my blog. They were always meant for a “niche market”, and you acquired loyal readers. As a matter of fact, I just crunched the numbers for that week. Here is what I found:

        Prologue – 7 views
        Part I – 13 views
        Part II – 16 views
        Part III – 16 views
        Part IV – 51 views
        Part V – 18 views
        Epilogue – 17 views

        Sure, it’s not a Maidan-sized crowd of teeming readers.
        But on the other hand, this is more people paying attention to your ideas than you would get if you just ranted on a street corner, no?
        Also keep in mind that the posts are out there forever, and new readers can continue to find them and marvel at the prescience of your ideas.

        Plus, these are QUALITY readers, not just some dufi who read shit like “The Daily Beast”.
        Also, remember, like Lenin used to say: Лучше меньше да лучше.
        Also, like Pasternak used to say, something like, “If you can bend men’s minds to your will, even if it is just a few minds, so long as they Quality-Minds.”
        Or something like that….

        Like

Leave a Reply

