How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – July Edition

 

Hello everybody, this is Bartleby the Scrivener speaking to you, once again.  Or should I say, Bartleby the Senior Scrivener.  See, after my recent motivational training, as you may have heard over the grapevine, I received a big promotion.  The results are at hand:  Awful Avalanche stats for July showed an UPWARD trend – yay!   Before I get to that, please accept my apologies for posting this month-end report one day late.  It had to be this way, because yalensis needed to finish off that Krutikov piece.  It would not do to break up Krutikov, Krutikov deserves better than that.  Krutikov gets angry when you break him up, and you would not like Krutikov when he is angry.

Anyhow, here are the raw metrics for July, as compared to June:

For Metric #1, i.e., the page views, compared to June, the number went up from 2,935 to 3,254.  For Metric #2, which is the one we care about more, i.e., number of distinct visitors, the number also went up, from 1,188 to 1,295.

Before proceeding further, senior management requests that I add the usual yalensis disclaimer, even though I would prefer not to:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

This is yalensis speaking now. Thank you once again for posting the ledger book, Bartleby.  Congratulations on your big promotion, now get the hell out of my office!

Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic trip down memory lane.  In which I narcissistically “look-back” through my own posts of the last month, self-assess them, and highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature:

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • Well, how could I not pick a Timur the Goat story?  ’nuff said.
  • And not straying too far from Timur’s cloven hooves:  Any time I foray into the world of art criticism, I believe I deserve a prize.  Oh, and a lucrative government grant.
  • Also from the world of the fine arts:  The timely death of a Ukrainian opera star who left his buskins for a khokhol and went off to war alongside the neo-Nazis.
  • Next, a 4-parter about Trump advisor Carter Page and his trip to Moscow.  One of my rare forays into American politics, but told from a Russian point of view.
  • Followed by a 3-parter about Ukrainian historian Petro Tolochko, and his trials and tribulations after he wrote something that ticked off the nationalists.
  • My piece about Ruthenians is probably my personal favorite one from July.  I took the time to do a bit of research, posted some interesting historical facts, and also made some political points about what is modern Ukraine and how it came to be.  This theme is actually close to my heart because out there in the violent blogosphere I am constantly forced to polemicize against foolish people who see, in the creation of modern Ukraine, a simplistic “Bolshevik” plot against the Russian people.  Smart people know that the history was actually a lot more complicated than that.

Be that as it may, it is now time to march on with the

Parade Of Nations


My 1,295 July visitors cranked up their Ham radios and and Morse-coded in from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.

United States 986
United Kingdom 385
Canada 300
New Zealand 244
Russia 228
Germany 214
Australia 185
Romania 73
France 57
Mexico 52
Finland 49
Tanzania 38
Czech Republic 35
Hong Kong SAR China 25
Italy 25
Austria 21
Brazil 19
India 18
Ireland 16
Sweden 15
Switzerland 14
United Arab Emirates 14
Poland 12
Malaysia 12
Denmark 10
South Africa 10
Netherlands 10
Slovenia 9
Sri Lanka 9
Belgium 9
Greece 8
Slovakia 7
Ukraine 7
Spain 7
Latvia 7
Taiwan 7
Philippines 6
Saudi Arabia 6
Georgia 6
Pakistan 5
Trinidad & Tobago 5
Norway 4
Singapore 4
Thailand 4
Bulgaria 4
Turkey 4
Argentina 4
European Union 3
Israel 3
Estonia 3
South Korea 3
Zimbabwe 3
Serbia 3
Croatia 3
Peru 2
Mongolia 2
Vietnam 2
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Indonesia 2
Lithuania 2
Japan 2
Iraq 2
Hungary 2
Egypt 1
U.S. Virgin Islands 1
Ethiopia 1
Bangladesh 1
Algeria 1
Andorra 1
El Salvador 1
Nigeria 1
Venezuela 1
Oman 1
Guam 1
Lebanon 1
Curaçao 1
Jamaica 1
Dominican Republic 1
Moldova 1
Kenya 1
Tunisia 1
Malta 1
Macedonia 1
Mauritius 1
Nicaragua 1
Ecuador 1
Togo 1
Qatar 1

People: Thank you for visiting my blog, stay strong, and please come back!
Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

