How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – May Edition

 

Hello everybody, this is Bartleby speaking.

Like I have tried to tell my master many many times, Life is a Game of Numbers.  And, believe me, the numbers don’t lie.  When my master gets lazy and publishes fewer new posts in a given month, then we get fewer readers and fewer page views.  It seems to be a simple enough function, even for a mundane mind to grasp.

“What? No opera?” means fewer readers

At least that is my explanation/excuse for why both of our May metrics went down, as compared to April.  For example, compared to the April 3,565 page views, May numbers went down to 3,036. Compared to the April 1,224  distinct visitors, May numbers went down to 1,165. But on the flip side of the coin, we only published 18 new posts in May, compared to 24 in April, which is more like our normal output.  Reasons for our lack of productivity during the month of May are many, and nefarious…

Before proceeding, the master requests that I add the usual yalensis disclaimer, even though I would prefer not to:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

This is yalensis speaking now. Thank you once again for posting the ledger book, Bartleby.  And P.S. why are you still here, I fired you over a month ago?  And by the way, I have a different explanation for why my metrics went down in May.  I believe the reason is because I did not write any opera reviews.  My readers expect me to write great opera reviews, but I was so fiendishly busy at my paying job, that I had no time for the higher culture.  My brain shrank and my spirit was broken.  This is basically what happened to me.

Be That As It May…

Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this here is my nostalgic and subjective “look-back” to the past month. Looking through my own posts, I want to highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I call this feature

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • My very first story for the month – Tajiks De-Russify Family Names –  I think this one was good because, instead of going for the cheap shot, like Western media did, I highlighted some cultural and linguistic information about a very interesting ethnic group.
  • My 3-part series on Palmyra, Syria.  Come on, guys, this is a classic story!  It has everything:  music, politics, war, and even some literary references.
  • My take on the Eurovision story – while also introducing a quite interesting pundit, who deserves to be better known.
  • And then this fireworks story was also pretty good, I think.  Not so much because the story itself is riveting, but because it highlights a town in the Russian backwater, which is something I like to do, occasionally.  Remind people that, you know, Russia has more to it, than just Moscow and St. Petersburg.

And now on to the

Parade Of Nations

 

My 1,165 May visitors fired up their modems and dialed in from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.

United States 693
New Zealand 420
United Kingdom 389
Canada 287
Russia 190
Australia 175
Germany 107
Mexico 107
Romania 83
Brazil 52
France 47
Czech Republic 47
Vietnam 38
Finland 25
Belgium 23
Netherlands 22
Ireland 21
Azerbaijan 20
Italy 18
Sweden 16
Denmark 16
India 14
Switzerland 13
Poland 12
Ukraine 11
Lithuania 10
Malaysia 9
Portugal 9
Norway 9
Thailand 7
Japan 7
Kazakhstan 6
Taiwan 6
Singapore 6
Spain 6
United Arab Emirates 5
Nigeria 5
Turkey 5
Malta 5
Slovenia 4
Bulgaria 4
Estonia 4
Hong Kong SAR China 4
Argentina 4
South Africa 4
Bangladesh 3
Morocco 3
Georgia 3
Greece 3
Latvia 3
Austria 3
Bosnia & Herzegovina 3
Jordan 3
Zimbabwe 2
Croatia 2
Moldova 2
Serbia 2
Philippines 2
South Korea 2
Pakistan 2
Peru 2
Saudi Arabia 2
Israel 2
Costa Rica 2
European Union 2
Tunisia 2
Egypt 1
Indonesia 1
Bolivia 1
Ghana 1
Albania 1
Uzbekistan 1
Macedonia 1
China 1
Oman 1
Iraq 1
Afghanistan 1
Nepal 1
Lebanon 1
Bermuda 1
Hungary 1
Panama 1
Puerto Rico 1
Belarus 1
Libya 1
Brunei 1
Mozambique 1

People: Thank you for visiting my blog, and please come back, y’all!

Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

