How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – April Edition

 

Dear Readers:

This is Bartleby speaking now.  Just like the industrious, hard-working little scrivener that I am, it is time to close out my master’s books for the month of April, 2016. So here is what I have.

April was pretty darned good.  Both metrics which we measure, went up.  For example, compared to the March 3136 page views, April went up to 3565.  Compared to the March 950 distinct visitors, April went up to 1224.   The master is satisfied with this modest, but measurable, improvement.

The master requests that I add the usual yalensis disclaimer, even though I would prefer not to:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

This is yalensis speaking now.  Thank you for posting the ledger book, Bartleby, you may go now.   (….)  I said, you may go.    (….)  I said you may go.   (….)  I said you may … oh, never mind, you can just camp out on my stairwell, if you like.

Anyhow,

Before posting my usual “Parade of Nations”, this month I wanted to add a new feature, this is my own nostalgic and subjective “look-back” to the past month.  Looking through my own posts, I want to highlight a few which I think are particularly good, I will call this feature

Highlights of the Month

So, here we go, in chronological order:

  • My review of the opera Madama Butterfly at the Met – just trying to bring some culture to the table, folks.  I don’t think this review was as good as some of my previous opera reviews — I am particularly proud of my past Tannhäuser and Turandot; nonethess, I think my Butterfly was pretty decent.
  • Rybczynski channeling Tolstoy – I think this one was good because it combines politics with lit crit.  And also introduced the biography of a person, Rybczynski, who is not well known, but made a rather stupid utterance to the world.
  • Ukrainian Parliament Leader Praises White Skin – I think my piece on Parubiy was pretty good, and it is also important to keep reminding people, that America’s client government in the Ukraine contains a large dollop of fascists and white supremacists.   Just sayin’
  • Ukrainian Chief of Navy Dismissed for “Khalatnost” – people might think I am picking on Ukrainians too much, but I simply could not resist using Hayduk as the setup to an elaborate linguistic pun.
  • Next came a series of “Bolshevik” – themed posts, starting with Lyttenburgh’s “On the Stalin Purges of the Soviet Military”.  It is always a treat to get a post from Lyttenburgh, because he is an actual historian, and he knows how to use facts, numbers, and even graphs and charts!  Editing Lyttenburgh’s piece was an educational experience for me too, I had to brush up on my HTML skills to get the tables rendering correctly.
  • I followed right on Lyt’s heels with my own two-parter about Lenin’s April Theses.  Feedback from my readers confirmed that I had helped at least a couple of people to clarify, in their own brains, some of the confusing events of the two Russian Revolutions.  See, it wasn’t even so much about people swarming through the streets, as it was all about politics and faction fighting.  And you don’t have to be a commie to “get it” that Lenin’s slogan, traditionally translated as “All power to the Soviets”, actually meant “Government functions should be performed by the soviets” – as opposed to, say, a bourgeois Parliament or Duma.  It’s really as simple as that, folks.  And I hope I helped to clarify this matter.
  • And last but not least, my post about the Documentary Film on the Russian Revolution.  Hey, in essence, all I did was post somebody else’s youtube video, but in the process I managed to add what I believe is interesting historical and biographical information, especially touching on the American Left.

And now on to the

Parade Of Nations

 

My 1224 April visitors fired up their modems and dialed in from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.

United States 639
United Kingdom 577
New Zealand 407
Russia 372
Canada 364
Australia 214
Germany 122
Romania 91
Vietnam 68
Mexico 62
Malaysia 53
France 48
Czech Republic 46
Netherlands 44
Italy 43
Denmark 34
Belgium 30
Azerbaijan 27
Norway 23
India 21
Brazil 20
Switzerland 16
Greece 13
South Africa 12
Spain 11
Ukraine 11
Finland 10
European Union 10
Sweden 10
Croatia 8
Israel 8
Serbia 7
Iraq 7
Turkey 7
Ireland 6
Latvia 5
Slovenia 5
Taiwan 5
Saudi Arabia 5
Portugal 5
Indonesia 5
United Arab Emirates 4
Georgia 4
Singapore 4
Austria 4
Philippines 3
Maldives 3
Albania 3
Lithuania 3
Poland 3
Nigeria 3
Pakistan 3
Japan 3
U.S. Virgin Islands 3
Algeria 2
Egypt 2
Slovakia 2
Luxembourg 2
Mozambique 2
Thailand 2
Chile 2
Bosnia & Herzegovina 2
Kenya 2
Bulgaria 2
Peru 2
Uzbekistan 1
Kazakhstan 1
South Korea 1
Armenia 1
Namibia 1
Kuwait 1
Qatar 1
Venezuela 1
Yemen 1
Kyrgyzstan 1
Cameroon 1
Dominican Republic 1
Estonia 1
Hong Kong SAR China 1
Argentina 1
Bahamas 1
Guadeloupe 1
Paraguay 1
Uruguay 1
Ghana 1
Jordan 1
Suriname 1
Guatemala 1
Libya 1
Cyprus 1
Hungary 1
Macedonia 1
Costa Rica 1

People: Thank you for visiting my blog, and please come back.

Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

