How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – March Edition

Dear Readers:

Okay, as promised, here it is, a day late and a dollar short:  My monthly audit.  Just like a good accountant, it is time to close out the month of March, 2016.  So here are my stats.

Bottom line, March was not too bad. Page views were down from February, that’s bad news; however, the number I care about more — distinct people who visited my blog — went up.  So, that’s good news.

I think this means — and I hope it means, that there are people out there who know about my blog, they have visited it in the past, and now visit it regularly, just to catch the latest and greatest.  Occasionally I get a comment from a new person, the others seem pretty shy.  In case anyone is worried about leaving a comment on somebody else’s blog, I offer my usual disclaimer:

Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.

Without further ado, here is my monthly audit:

Expenses – WordPress blogs are free – so NONE!

Revenues
I don’t get paid to do this, I do it just for FUN!

And now [drumroll] for the metrics, so here are the numbers for the month of March, according to my trusty WordPress stats:

  • AwfulAvalanche had 3,126 page views, down from February’s 3,531.
  • The number of distinct people who visited my blog: 950. Up from February’s 840.

“Freude, schöner Götterfunken, la la la la LA la la….”

  • Nations of the World:  My 950 March visitors fired up their modems and dialed in from the following countries, in order of most to least page views.  WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.
United States 546
United Kingdom 536
Canada 413
New Zealand 253
Australia 251
Russia 214
Vietnam 144
Germany 112
Mexico 105
Romania 80
France 64
Belgium 40
Czech Republic 36
Italy 31
Brazil 30
Netherlands 18
Slovakia 15
Denmark 15
India 14
Poland 14
Hungary 13
Azerbaijan 12
Ukraine 12
Turkey 11
Spain 9
Japan 9
Switzerland 8
Singapore 7
Finland 6
Sweden 6
Estonia 6
Latvia 6
Portugal 6
Georgia 6
Lithuania 5
Croatia 5
Norway 5
Philippines 5
Serbia 5
Greece 4
Austria 4
Chile 3
Ireland 3
Indonesia 3
United Arab Emirates 3
European Union 2
Israel 2
Nigeria 2
Algeria 2
South Africa 2
Bahamas 2
Slovenia 2
Bulgaria 2
Luxembourg 1
Argentina 1
Kuwait 1
Cameroon 1
Pakistan 1
South Korea 1
Macedonia 1
Jordan 1
Guernsey 1
Cyprus 1
Taiwan 1
Sudan 1
Kenya 1
Kazakhstan 1
Côte d’Ivoire 1
Isle of Man 1
Moldova 1
Saudi Arabia 1
Uruguay 1
Hong Kong SAR China 1
Malaysia 1
Lebanon 1
Ghana 1
Costa Rica 1
Belarus 1
Thailand 1
Yemen 1

People:  Thank you for visiting my blog, and please come back y’all!

Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – March Edition

  1. Cortes says:

    As ever, many thanks to you for the excellent, stimulating essays on topics underrepresented in other media. It is admirable how you manage to select a range of subjects requiring you to make serial posts. Chapeau, maitre.
    Having this morning started (then finished- farewell to notions of wandering the spring countryside) Donna Leon’s latest in her Commissario Brunetti series “Falling in Love ” which deals with an infatuated fan of opera diva Flavia Petronelli – featured also in the opening work in the series ” Death at La Fenice”, may I suggest that you read them? The latest work is a modern version of what the XIX Century would have described as “transposition d’art” with a novelisation of a very operatic situation.
    Again, bravo!

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Thanks, Cortes!
      And thanks for the book recommendation – I like books about opera.
      Speaking of which, I just got back from watching the Met Opera Live in HD of Puccini’s “Madama Butterfly”. It was very good (music and singing dynamite, as usual), and quite mind-stimulating. I never realized before what an anti-imperialist work this is. I have no idea what Puccini’s politics were, but this piece is brilliantly anti-American. And I don’t just mean, because Pinkerton is a cad – it goes much deeper than that.
      I might just write a review of this tomorrow.

      Like

      • Cortes says:

        You’re welcome.

        “Acqua alta” another in the series has further operatic adventures.
        Pinkerton was a good example of the Scotsman on the make in the expanding USA. Best example was of course Carnegie.
        The experience of Thomas Glover is supposed to underlie the Butterfly story.

        Like

  2. marknesop says:

    Great blog, yalensis! What I like most about it is your natural and sidesplitting humor; just a soupcon of mockery here and there is tremendously effective against someone who might be moved to suggest you take yourself too seriously. It’s obvious you’re having fun, and you’re good at this.

    Like

  3. Northern Star says:

    I thought these videos interesting….and the woman interviewer is way hot!!!! :O)
    Are those green eyes framed by her lovely black flowing hair???


    Like

Leave a Reply

