How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – February Edition

Dear Readers:

Well it’s a new month, so time to close out the old one. So, here are my stats for the month of February, 2016.

Okay, bottom line, full disclosure, gun to head:  February did not live up to January, metrics-wise.  But we knew that was going to happen.  If you recall, January was a very special month, in which I became a one-hit wonder, with my piece on Libyan gold.  This one particular article raised my stats up beyond their normal range.  Without a similar break-out piece in February, it makes more sense to compare February with December.  Which it does, favorably. And that’s even factoring in, that I spent quite a few days in February posting low-popularity, strictly niche items such as an opera review and my six-part Griboedov series!   Also factoring in that February is a short month.

But even with those low-popularity, strictly labors-of-love items, I still managed to slightly edge out my December stats.  (It helped that February gave me that one extra leap-year day!)  But before we get to the cold hard numbers, here is my usual ditty:

Expenses – WordPress blogs are free – so NONE!

Revenues
I don’t get paid to do this, I do it just for FUN!

And now [drumroll] for the metrics, so here are the numbers for the month of February, according to my trusty WordPress stats:

  • AwfulAvalanche had 3,531 page views, down from January’s 4,902 but up from 3,317 page views in December.
  • The number of distinct people who visited my blog: 840. Down from January’s 1,967, but slightly up from December’s 817 people.
  • Once again, the yalensis disclaimer: Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not.
  • Once again, speaking of countries, my 840 February visitors fired up their modems and dialed in from the following countries, in order of most to least page views. WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I copy-pasted onto here.  And by the way, it did not escape my eagle eye, that if you paste these numbers into a spreadsheet, the sums adds up to 3,527 views, not 3,531.  I honestly have no idea why the discrepancy.  Must be a bug in the WordPress software.  Go figure.

 

United States 663
Russia 417
Vietnam 394
Canada 387
New Zealand 298
United Kingdom 294
Australia 261
Germany 191
Romania 158
Mexico 75
France 61
Spain 36
Malaysia 31
Netherlands 18
Norway 16
Cambodia 15
Brazil 14
Denmark 13
Belgium 11
European Union 9
Argentina 9
India 9
Slovenia 9
Czech Republic 8
Italy 8
Ukraine 7
Serbia 7
Poland 7
Finland 7
Sweden 6
Switzerland 5
Slovakia 5
Greece 5
South Korea 4
Austria 4
South Africa 4
Philippines 4
Japan 4
Saudi Arabia 4
Latvia 3
Bulgaria 3
Lithuania 3
Singapore 3
Indonesia 3
Israel 3
Estonia 2
Georgia 2
Libya 2
Croatia 2
Pakistan 2
Thailand 2
Lebanon 2
Portugal 2
Ireland 1
Ghana 1
Jordan 1
Albania 1
Peru 1
United Arab Emirates 1
Algeria 1
Colombia 1
Hungary 1
Belarus 1
Egypt 1
Uruguay 1
Dominican Republic 1
Chile 1
Zimbabwe 1

Anyhow, I hope everybody found something interesting to read, please post comments, thanks again, everybody!

Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – February Edition

  1. Cortes says:

    Thanks once more for the stimulating and wide ranging essays. I’m aware of your interest in music and read today in “Noise” by David Hendy of the work on Archaeoacoustics of Iegor Reznikoff and was a little disappointed only to be able to find biographical information on him in a Finnish Wikipedia article. Judging by the fairly outdated transcription of the name elements (or maybe just following French convention?) my guess would be he’s of a White Russian background. Perhaps worthy of one of your future “niche” pieces?

    Like

  2. marknesop says:

    Good show, yalensis!!! If I checked I daresay I would find that you are doing a lot better than I was at this point in my blogging history – but then, I was a complete unknown starting from scratch, it took awhile to build a following. You’re doing very well and yours is an interesting, eclectic blog – but what I think is its biggest attraction is its sincerity and non-partisanship. I guess that’s two things, actually. Oh, and speaking of numbers, if you go to your stats page you will find an explanation of how they arrive at their numbers together with a disclaimer that you might not get the same result if you just add them up.

    You’re a good writer and you have a wicked sense of humor-how can you lose?

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Thanks, Mark!
      And in fairness, I didn’t really start from scratch, because a lot of good readers/commenters knew me from your blog. So, if YOU were a TV show, then I would be a spin-off! For example, if you were “Toddlers and Tiaras”, then I would be “Dance Moms”.

      Also, I don’t know if I would call myself non-partisan. I have a definite point of view, although I do try to keep an open mind. (Mostly.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

