How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – December Edition

Dear Readers:

Today I had my staff at AwfulAvalanche close out our books not just for the month of December, but the whole year 2015.  And good riddance!  So once again:

So, how much money did we make?

Expenses – WordPress blogs are free – so NONE!

Revenues
I don’t get paid to do this, I do it just for FUN!

And now [drumroll] for the metrics, so here are the numbers for the month of December, according to my trusty WordPress stats:

  • AwfulAvalanche had 3,317 page views, up from 3,068 page views in November.
  • The number of distinct people who visited my blog:  817.  That’s only 7 people down from last month’s 824.   Thank you very much for visiting, 817 people, whoever you are!

Willy Loman: It’s all about Customer Loyalty, Son!

  • The reason the number of distinct people is not the same as page views, is because one person might log in several times in the course of the month, to see the latest blogpost.  In other words, like Willy Loman used to say:  The key to good sales is Repeat Customers!  Which I think is awesome!
  • Once again, the yalensis disclaimer:
  • Your Privacy is Important to Me: WordPress calculates who is a distinct person by their I.P. address. It also uses the I.P. address to deduce which country you live in. I myself can’t see I.P. addresses unless you leave a comment. In which case I can see your email address; and from that I COULD look up your I.P. if I were curious, which I am not, actually.
  • Speaking of countries, my 817 December visitors cranked up their modems and dialed in from the following countries, in order of most to least page views.  WordPress allows me to save these stats as a CSV file, from which I can handily just paste onto here:
  • United States 512
    Australia 477
    New Zealand 456
    United Kingdom 448
    Russia 298
    Canada 253
    Mexico 131
    Germany 89
    France 79
    Romania 70
    Vietnam 60
    Czech Republic 59
    Brazil 43
    Spain 43
    Slovakia 31
    Guatemala 23
    India 19
    Finland 18
    Italy 17
    Malaysia 16
    Ukraine 12
    Slovenia 11
    Netherlands 11
    Sweden 10
    Hungary 10
    Turkey 9
    Poland 7
    Argentina 7
    European Union 7
    South Africa 7
    Norway 7
    Singapore 6
    Greece 6
    Indonesia 5
    Latvia 4
    Belgium 4
    Switzerland 3
    Estonia 3
    Serbia 3
    United Arab Emirates 3
    Ireland 3
    Taiwan 3
    Georgia 3
    South Korea 3
    Lithuania 3
    Denmark 3
    Thailand 2
    Austria 2
    Israel 2
    Trinidad & Tobago 2
    Lebanon 2
    Philippines 1
    Bosnia & Herzegovina 1
    Portugal 1
    Libya 1
    Bulgaria 1
    Iceland 1
    Chile 1
    Pakistan 1
    U.S. Virgin Islands 1
    Ghana 1
    Luxembourg 1

I hope people found something interesting to read, please post comments, thanks again, everybody!

Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How’m I Doin’, Hey, Hey – December Edition

  1. Cortes says:

    You are doing just fine, Yalensis and tantas gracias for your efforts.

    When I return from Spain early February I hope to start a blog dealing with public transport in Scotland, focussing on interaction between travelers and workers but also featuring modern “characters “.

    May I picture your brains? Get blogging advice?

    No problem if you’re unwilling.

    Please keep private.

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Dear Cortes:
      I think starting your own blog is a smashing idea! And of course I will keep this top secret until you give the word.
      Of course I will give you any advice you like, but I don’t consider myself to be an expert blogger, I’m fairly new at this myself.
      The great thing about being a “niche blogger” and not doing it for money, is that I can pick my own topics and write about whatever I like. Of course, I desperately hope to get readers, and that other people will be interested in my pieces.
      My personal shtick is that I try to craft each story as an actual “story”, with a beginning, a middle, and an end. I don’t say I succeed all the time, but I focus on trying to be a good WRITER, as opposed to just a blogger with a point of view.

      Let me know when you start your blog, I will eagerly visit it!

      Like

  2. Cortes says:

    Pick your brains even ;

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Dear Cortes:
      You can “pick my brains” all you like, but I doubt if you want to “picture my brains”.

      Unless you have your own MRI machine. In which case, all you would see is a steaming mass of jelly, looking something like this, which Doctor Frankenfurter would have Igor label as “A.B. Normal” brain unsuitable for transplantation into Ze Monster:

      Like

  3. Fern says:

    May I wish you a happy new year, yalensis. Those statistics are impressive for a blog that was started only a few months ago. Congratulations and thank you for all the work you’ve done over a long period in translating Russian-based material so that those of us who don’t read or speak the language can access a lot of additional information we otherwise would not have.

    Like

  4. Jen says:

    Congratulations on reaching those impressive figures across a huge range of countries, Yalensis. I second Fern’s comment: thanks for all the hard work in finding and translating Russian-language news items.

    Happy New Year, Best Wishes and More Cat Fights for 2016! 🙂

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Ooooooh, that’s quite a cat fight! Who won, by the way?

      And thanks for the nice comment, Jen!
      I’m still trying to figure out if the EU is actually a country or not!
      (or just an I.P. address – LOL)

      Like

Leave a Reply

