How’m I doin’ ?

Dear Readers:

My blog “Awful Avalanche” has been up for 2 weeks now, I started it on September 5, so you do the math.

No, actually, I’ll let WordPress do the math.  (If I can figure out how to use their “Stats” utility.)  It is time to collate some data and ask the perennial question, “How’m I doin’ ?”

So, here be the metrics:

In those 2 weeks of my blog, I had 182 distinct visitors.  (Thanks and welcome, 182 visitors!)

There were 1,124 page views.  You divide the first number into the second to get the average number of page views.  In other words (I think this is the way it works), each visitor clicked on 6.2 pages of my blog.  This is normal for my blog, I think, because I write quickly and post a lot of short pieces.  Somebody might come in to check out one headline, and then get curious about another one.  This is my intention with the catchy headlines.

My visitors “dial in” from the following countries, in highest order of frequency (please not to worry, folks, it doesn’t tell me anything about you or who you are,  there are no I.P. addresses, it just mindlessly counts the number of views by country of origin):

  • USA
  • Australia
  • U.K.
  • Mexico
  • Canada
  • Russia
  • Romania
  • New Zealand
  • Brazil
  • Czech Republic
  • France
  • Germany
  • Belgium
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Poland
  • Italy
  • Austria
  • Taiwan
  • Hungary
  • Denmark
  • Argentina
  • Portugal
  • Norway
  • Slovakia
  • Isle Of Man
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Ireland
  • European Union [what???? – is that a country????]
  • Georgia (Gruzia)
  • Ukraine
  • Philippines
  • Kyrgystan

[the last few countries, from Isle of Man onward having just one view apiece]

This is pretty cool. Thanks again, Esteemed Visitors!

Sincerely yours,

yalensis

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How’m I doin’ ?

  1. bolasete says:

    when posts are made – in general, not meaning any specific site – there’s often a time stamp. thus, at ks, it comes in at pacific time, which makes sense for location of site owner and probable location of isp. long way of saying that when i commented here i got a strange time stamp which put it ~ sao paolo or ultima thule, or my favorite, western atlantic! a floating member of club orlov?
    please don’t waste time responding; i just poured the first morning coffee and couldn’t help laughing over your early check of your early stats. you may have a future with gallup polling!

    Like

    • yalensis says:

      Dear bolasete:
      I edited your comment to fix the typo, first time I tried to edit a comment, I hope I did it right.
      Anyhow, yeah, I noticed the weird timestamp, I think it must be Greenwich time. It’s weird, because on Mark’s blog it shows Pacific time, which is where he writes from.
      Where I write from, it should be EST, but instead it shows what I think is GMT.
      Maybe that’s some setting I could change, I dunno.

      Like

      • yalensis says:

        P.S. – Nah, I’m not qualified to work for Gallup, because I never took a statistics class. However, at my regular job I have to write a lot of reports on performance indicators, compliance metrics, etc., hence, I have become sensitized to the philosophy that everything we do in life needs to be constantly measured!

        Like

  2. bolasete says:

    today’s comments show gmt, but the originals back whenever was gmt-3 which was the source of my reference. your lack of statistical expertise should be, nowadays, a badge of honor. as i was once precluded from doing what i trained to do i used my ‘knowledge’ to do regression analyses so the bigwigs could increase profits, a very sterile job. i always read stuff here but don’t comment ‘less i can’t control myself. mostly here to learn, not teach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

